Start a new topic
Solved

Replacement Power Switch for GBA

Hello everyone, 

I modded two GBA's with parts from retrosix and it worked out perfectly. I bought two of those replacement Power Switches to replace it if needed.

Now my Questions I cleaned my old switches with IPA and that worked quite well, but 
I notice that a lot of times the LED of my GBA get's red pretty early I think that's maybe because of the power switch? I only modded the Screen with the IPS mod and use AA rechargeable batteries. 

So I maybe need to take the plunge open it up again and replace the power switch, or is the red light normal with the higher power consumption due to the Screen mod? 

If I need to replace the switch do I replace it with the small circuit board unter that switch? Or do I need to desolder it from the board that arrived with it? 

I would really appreciate if someone already did that replacement could help me out maybe even with pictures. I'm not very experienced and this mod was the first one for me even the soldering. But that said, the soldering worked fine for the screen replacements :) 

Greets,

Christopher

The red light triggers due to the voltage going to 2.4V or less. The power power draw you have, the lower the resting voltage... so in short, your batteries will indicate they are low sooner. So it just depends how much sooner. The other effect is a bad power switch adds more resistance to the input, causing a voltage divider effect and lowering the voltage, causing the trigger sooner.

TLDR; replace the power switch I would say. 

Also for faster support jump on our discord   https://discord.gg/BXyBDwkY 

1 person likes this